About Us

The Tau Omicron Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on the Cecil B. Day Atlanta campus of Mercer University, on April 24, 2004. Procedures for organizing the chapter were initiated by Neeka Barrow and Shayla Bell. After their tireless efforts, they successfully unified thirteen undergraduate women in the interest of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. These women were Karen Barfield, Neeka Barrow, Ashley Bridges, Shayla Bell, Millicent Crawford, Cassandra Hall, Dionne Maddox, Seleta Mason, Erica Parks, Joleika Powell, Natasha Seals, Tiffany Snowden and Kristen Tate. They became known as the Mosi Line (Swahili for first born), and were intiated into Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. under the guidance of the Marietta-Roswell Alumnae Chapter. These thirteen women obtained a charter for the 960th chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc!

Since Tau Omicron's chartering, it has been an organization of predominantly black college women with the courage to lead. The chapter's history of service to the community and scholastic achievement has been noted locally and regionally.

This chapter is comprised of members whom attend the Atlanta, Douglas, and Henry County campuses of Mercer University.